We hope you enjoy our vision! Spread the love.

Effects of [Eastern] Music on [Western] Peeps

I recently ran across a video on You Tube for one of my favorite CD’s that I haven’t listened to for many years. I have a vast CD and vinyl collection [well over 5,000 titles if you are wondering] and so I am able to enjoy a variety of musical styles and releases from all over the world.

A few quick words about my listening habits is probably in order: I hardly ever listen to records more than one time through in one sitting. There are those rare occasions of course, but I have a hard time treating music and art as a commodity —by listening to something on repeat, over and over until you are officially sick of it [ala’ how the radio stations try to pimp the latest hit single of the week].

I like to be able to pull any number of albums or CD’s from “the wall” and enjoy them —no matter how old they are, as if the music was freshly pressed just yesterday…

So when I stumbled upon this gem most recently, a huge smile appeared on my face and I couldn’t wait to get my trusty Sennheiser headphones on to get “lost” in this sublime mix yet again!

 

“It was like seeing an old “friend” that you haven’t seen for the past decade.” – MK

 

What I am going to turn you on to is a unique collaboration between world-renowned Pakistani musician/singer Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and producer/musician Michael Brook. The song in question is “Lament” from the excellent album called Night Song (Real World Records).

I am sure this release [from waaay back in 1996] flew well below the radar of most peeps out there. For those of you in the know, Real World Records was founded by WOMAD and Peter Gabriel.

 

“Whatever the music, whatever the technology, great records come from great performances.”

Peter Gabriel

 

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan [R.I.P. 1948 – 1997] was primarily a singer of Qawwali, the devotional music of the Sufis (a mystical tradition within Islam). He was considered one of the greatest singers ever recorded as he possessed a six-octave vocal range!

Over the past twenty-five years, Michael Brook has forged his own path, fueled by a fervent interest in music from all over the world. His creative energies and expertise have been tapped over the years by those who recognize Michael as, variously: a record producer; a soundtrack composer; an instrument builder; an inspired collaborator and player; and a solo artist possessed of a unique sensibility.

 

 

This is the real deal folks. The best of both worlds.

N-Joy!

Share

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Effects of [Eastern] Music on [Western] Peeps « Non-Duality America -- Topsy.com

Add Your Thoughts/Comments Below

