We hope you enjoy our vision! Spread the love.

A Song Called Ripple [Aural Audio]

ripple

Art: Jeff Sidlow

 

*Words by Robert Hunter; music by Jerry Garcia.

 

Ripple
Grateful Dead

If my words did glow with the gold of sunshine
And my tunes were played on the harp unstrung
Would you hear my voice come through the music
Would you hold it near as it were your own?

It’s a hand-me-down, the thoughts are broken
Perhaps they’re better left unsung
I don’t know, don’t really care
Let there be songs to fill the air

(Chorus)

Ripple in still water
When there is no pebble tossed
Nor wind to blow

Reach out your hand if your cup be empty
If your cup is full may it be again
Let it be known there is a fountain
That was not made by the hands of men

There is a road, no simple highway
Between the dawn and the dark of night
And if you go no one may follow
That path is for your steps alone

(Chorus)

You who choose to lead must follow
But if you fall you fall alone
If you should stand then who’s to guide you?
If I knew the way I would take you home.

 

 

///

 

I’ve never really been a Grateful Dead fan but I really dig this song. I’d never heard  it before and one day out of the blue my dear auntie Melody sends me and email and turned me onto (it several years ago).

I listened to it—in the sterile design office I was working in at the time and it really touched me in an ineffable way. Perhaps I needed a break from that environment, perhaps the intentions of a close relative were too strong to ignore, maybe it was serendipity (if you believe in that)…better yet—it could be (that) it’s just a great song and words… or both.

You decide.

 

What, in your opinion, is the meaning of this song, if any?

 

SOURCES (Further Reading);

 

 

3 responses

  1. Nice song, a kind of before-or-after the event takes place, thing that’s going on outside of our linear time measurement…

    February 16, 2015 at 1:24 am

  2. Auntie Melody

    The song ministers to each soul differently. It is a song that will live on through the years and be ageless. A person will get a completely different message from it today than they did yesterday. Whatever one is going through, it will touch your heart, mind & spirit differently.

    February 17, 2015 at 6:21 am

  3. lunajune

    life… this flow…
    we can be in it, and not aware
    we can be out of it too
    every thought
    a ripple in time
    flowing on…..being picked up, stumbled upon
    like a feeling…a tickle when no one is there
    this life
    that continually flows
    like ripples in the sun
    rising up from the road
    blown by the wind
    I hear it’s wild song
    and race along

    February 23, 2015 at 8:42 am

Add Your Thoughts/Comments Below

